Breaking News

Early Voting begins Nov. 26

Early voting runoff

By Elaine Owen, Editor
Advanced voting for the Dec. 4 election will be conducted at the office of the Fannin County Registration & Elections at 400 West Main St. Suite 301, Blue Ridge, Ga. November 27- November 30, 2018
Tuesday-Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. If you choose to vote on Election Day, you must cast your ballot at your assigned precinct. ALL PRECINCTS WILL BE OPEN 7 a.m.-7 p.m.
Residents can verify their voter eligibility in this election by visiting
Both the Secretary of State and PSC races went to a runoff because no candidates took a 50-per-cent-plus-one-vote majority in the Nov. 6 election.
The race for Secretary of State will feature Democrat John Barrow of Athens, an attorney and former congressman, facing Republican Brad Raffensperger of Johns Creek, a member of the Georgia House of Representatives and a business owner.
Raffensperger finished first in the first round of voting, taking 1,906,588 votes or 49.1 percent, according to certified results from the Georgia Secretary of State’s office. Barrow received 1,890,310 votes, good for 48.7 percent, while Libertarian Smythe Duval received 86,696 votes, or 2.2 percent.
The Secretary of State’s office oversees Georgia’s elections, as well as professional licensing and corporate filings.
Also on the ballot is the race for the District 3 seat on the Public Service Commission, which regulates utilities in Georgia. PSC commissioners are elected statewide.
Republican incumbent Chuck Eaton is facing Democrat and business owner Lindy Miller.
Eaton finished first in the General Election with 1,917,656 votes, or 49.7 percent, followed by Miller who received 1,838,020 votes, or 47.6 percent. Libertarian Ryan Graham received 102,878 votes, or about 2.7 percent.